This prize, offered biennially by the Esteve Foundation to the best work on pharmacological research, was awarded this year to María José Alcaraz and her collaborators for the study Modulation of acute and chronic inflammatory processes by cacospongionolide B, a novel inhibitor of human synovial phospholipase A2, published in the British Journal of Pharmacology (volume 126, pages 301-311) in 1999. The international jury was composed of Alasdair Breckenridge (United Kingdom), Sergio Erill, Director of the Foundation, and Marcus M. Reidenberg (USA).